All Government of Canada national security and intelligence activities now subject to independent expert review

News release

Ottawa, Ontario - July 17, 2019 - On July 12, Canada’s framework for national security accountability underwent a major transformation with the creation of the National Security and Intelligence Review Agency (NSIRA) and the coming into force of the National Security and Intelligence Review Agency Act (NSIRA Act) alongside other parts of the recently passed Bill C-59.

The NSIRA Act closes gaps in the national security accountability framework first identified by Justice O’Connor in the 2006 Arar report, and subsequently by many others. Prior to the NSIRA, only specific agencies had independent expert review bodies, and these bodies could not collaborate or share classified information. The NSIRA, by contrast, is mandated to review all Government of Canada national security and intelligence activities in an integrated manner, without regard for the department or agency the activities fall under.

To fulfill its review mandate, the NSIRA is entitled to receive all information held by federal entities that the NSIRA deems relevant to its reviews, no matter how classified or sensitive. This includes information subject to a legal privilege. The sole exception is information classed as a Cabinet confidence.

The NSIRA will be led by up to seven members, eminent Canadians appointed by the Government in consultation with the opposition. The NSIRA will be supported by a secretariat of national security and legal experts.

The NSIRA will also hear public complaints regarding the activities of the Canadian Security Intelligence Service (CSIS), the Communications Security Establishment (CSE), and – when closely related to national security – the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP), as well as complaints regarding the Government of Canada security clearance process.

The NSIRA replaces the Security Intelligence Review Committee (SIRC), which was limited to the review of CSIS. The NSIRA also replaces the former Office of the CSE Commissioner (OCSEC), which reviewed the activities of the CSE. In addition, the NSIRA assumes responsibility for reviewing the national security and intelligence activities of the RCMP from the Civilian Review and Complaints Commission (CRCC).

The NSIRA’s first annual public report will be tabled in Parliament in 2020.

Quotes

“For thirty five years, the Security Intelligence Review Committee helped protect the rights and freedoms of Canadians by ensuring the democratic accountability of CSIS. Its successor, the National Security and Intelligence Review Agency, looks forward to scrutinizing the full range of Government of Canada national security and intelligence activities to ensure that they are lawful, reasonable and necessary.”
The Honourable Pierre Blais, P.C.
Member, National Security and Intelligence Review Agency

“Canada’s national security and intelligence agencies have been vested with extraordinary powers to help protect public safety and advance the national interest. Yet maintaining democratic accountability in the realm of national security, where secrecy is unavoidable, can be challenging. Independent institutions like the NSIRA play an important role in ensuring that parliamentarians and all Canadians remain appropriately informed of the important national security activities being carried out in their name.”
The Honourable L. Yves Fortier, P.C., C.C., O.Q., Q.C.
Member, National Security and Intelligence Review Agency

“With its unfettered access to sensitive information, the NSIRA will act as a bridge between the Government and civil society, able to scrutinize emerging issues where there are public doubts or concerns. Through its reports and its day-to-day interactions with officials, the NSIRA can also bring public concerns to the attention of national security actors and policy-makers.”
The Honourable Dr. Ian Holloway, P.C., C.D., Q.C.
Member, National Security and Intelligence Review Agency

“The NSIRA looks forward to working closely with the National Security and Intelligence Committee of Parliamentarians. Our complementary mandates will bolster the accountability of Canada’s national security and intelligence agencies.”
The Honourable Marie-Lucie Morin, P.C., C.M.
Member, National Security and Intelligence Review Agency

Related Products

Contacts

For more information, please contact:

Christopher Martin
Senior Research Advisor
National Security and Intelligence Review Agency
613-907-4414
Communications@sirc-csars.gc.ca

Date modified:

Toutes les activités du gouvernement du Canada en matière de sécurité nationale et de renseignement sont désormais examinées par des experts indépendants

Communiqué de presse

Ottawa (Ontario) - 17 juillet 2019 - Le 12 juillet 2019, le cadre de responsabilisation en matière de sécurité nationale du Canada fut au cœur d’une transformation majeure grâce à la création de l’Office de surveillance des activités en matière de sécurité nationale et de renseignement (OSSNR) et l’entrée en vigueur de la Loi sur l’Office de surveillance des activités en matière de sécurité nationale et de renseignement (Loi sur l’OSSNR) et d’autres parties du projet de loi C-59 récemment adopté.

La Loi sur l’OSSNR comble les lacunes du cadre de responsabilisation en matière de sécurité nationale d’abord relevées par le juge O’Connor dans le rapport Arar de 2006 et par plusieurs autres par la suite. Avant la mise sur pied de l’OSSNR, seuls quelques organismes spécifiques disposaient d’organismes d’examen spécialisés indépendants qui ne pouvaient ni collaborer ni échanger des informations classifiées. L’OSSNR, au contraire, a le mandat d’examiner toutes les activités du gouvernement du Canada en matière de sécurité nationale et de renseignement, de manière intégrée, quel que soit le ministère ou l’organisme dont relèvent les activités.

Afin de remplir son mandat, l’OSSNR est autorisé à recevoir toute l’information que détiennent des entités fédérales que l’OSSNR considère comme pertinente pour mener ses examens, peu importe la classification ou la nature délicate. Il peut s’agir également d’information assujettie à un privilège juridique. L’unique exception est l’information classée à titre de documents confidentiels du Cabinet.

L’OSSNR sera dirigé par un maximum de sept membres, d’éminents Canadiens nommés par le gouvernement en consultation avec l’opposition. L’OSSNR sera appuyé par un secrétariat de la sécurité nationale et par des experts juridiques.

En outre, l’OSSNR recevra des plaintes du public concernant les activités du Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité (SCRS), du Centre de la sécurité des télécommunications (CST) et, lorsqu’elles sont étroitement liées à la sécurité nationale, de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC). L’OSSNR recevra également les plaintes concernant le processus d’habilitation de sécurité du gouvernement du Canada.

L’OSSNR remplace le Comité de surveillance des activités de renseignement de sécurité (CSARS) dont l’examen se limitait au SCRS. L’OSSNR remplace également l’ancien Bureau du commissaire du CST (BCCST) qui examinait les activités du CST. De plus, l’OSSNR est chargé d’examiner les activités de la GRC en matière de sécurité nationale et de renseignement. La Commission civile d’examen et de traitement des plaintes (CCETP) continuera d’examiner toutes les autres activités de la GRC.

Le premier rapport annuel public de l’OSSNR sera déposé au Parlement en 2020.

Citations

« Depuis trente-cinq ans, le Comité de surveillance des activités de renseignement de sécurité a aidé à protéger les droits et libertés des Canadiens en assurant la responsabilisation démocratique du SCRS. Son successeur, l’Office de surveillance des activités en matière de sécurité nationale et de renseignement est impatient d’examiner minutieusement l’éventail complet d’activités du gouvernement du Canada en matière de sécurité nationale et de renseignement afin d’assurer qu’elles respectent la loi, qu’elles sont raisonnables et qu’elles sont nécessaires. »
L’honorable Pierre Blais, C.P.
Membre, Office de surveillance des activités en matière de sécurité nationale et de renseignement

« Les organismes de sécurité nationale et de renseignement du Canada sont investis de pouvoirs extraordinaires pour aider à protéger la sécurité publique et faire progresser l’intérêt national. Cependant, le maintien de la responsabilisation démocratique dans le domaine de la sécurité nationale où le secret est inévitable peut s’avérer difficile. Les institutions indépendantes comme l’OSSNR jouent un rôle important pour garantir que les parlementaires et tous les Canadiens demeurent adéquatement informés des activités importantes en matière de sécurité nationale étant menées en leur nom. »
L’honorable L. Yves Fortier, C.P., C.C., O.Q., c.r.
Membre, Office de surveillance des activités en matière de sécurité nationale et de renseignement

« Grâce à son accès sans entrave à l’information de nature délicate, l’OSSNR servira de pont entre le gouvernement et la société civile et pourra examiner minutieusement les questions émergentes suscitant des doutes et des préoccupations du public. Au moyen de ses rapports et de ses échanges quotidiens avec des responsables, l’OSSNR peut également porter les préoccupations du public à l’attention des acteurs et des décideurs en matière de sécurité nationale. »
L’honorable Ian Holloway, C.P., C.D., c.r.
Membre, Office de surveillance des activités en matière de sécurité nationale et de renseignement

« L’OSSNR se réjouit de travailler en étroite collaboration avec le Comité des parlementaires sur la sécurité nationale et le renseignement. Nos mandats complémentaires renforceront la responsabilité des organismes canadiens du renseignement et de la sécurité nationale. »
L’honorable Marie-Lucie Morin, C.P., C.M.
Membre, Office de surveillance des activités en matière de sécurité nationale et de renseignement

Produits connexes

Personnes-ressources

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Christopher Martin
Conseiller principal en recherche
Office de surveillance des activités en matière de sécurité nationale et de renseignement
613-907-4414
Communications@sirc-csars.gc.ca

Date de modification :