Overview Of Complaints Process Before NSIRA

The National Security and Intelligence Review Agency (NSIRA or the Review Agency) has the legislative mandate to investigate complaints concerning the Canadian Security Intelligence Service (CSIS or the Service) and the Communications Security Establishment (CSE) made by both individuals and groups, referrals made to the Review Agency under the RCMP Act by the CRCC and complaints relating to the denial or revocation of a security clearance. Before describing the types of complaints which NSIRA may investigate, it is important to provide a general overview of the complaints process.

NSIRA may receive inquiries regarding complaint cases either in writing or by telephone. NSIRA’s Registrar responds to such inquiries in a timely manner and provides procedural information to the prospective complainant regarding the complaints process and how the complaint may be deemed received by the Review Agency.

Complaints must be made in writing using the required form and enclosing the relevant documents pertaining to the complaint. It is helpful to the Review Agency if you can provide as much information as possible regarding the complaint, including dates, places and the names of any persons involved. Once a written complaint conforms to the Rules of Procedure, NSIRA conducts an initial review that includes any and all information that might be in the possession of CSIS, CSE, RCMP or the Deputy Head responsible (under section 18 complaints). NSIRA will acknowledge receipt of the complaint and inform you of the next step regarding the complaint and follow-up when necessary.

Where appropriate, complaints are investigated through a quasi-judicial hearing presided over by a Member of the Review Agency assisted by staff. In exercising its statutory requirements with respect to jurisdiction regarding complaints, the Review Agency has all of the powers of a superior court. A complainant has the right to be represented by counsel and to make representations at the hearing. Pre-hearing conferences may be conducted with all parties to agree on preliminary procedural matters, such as the allegations to be investigated, the identity and number of witnesses to be called and the production of documents in advance of a hearing. Provided that no issues of national security are raised, pre-hearing conferences can be conducted by telephone.

The hearing itself may occur in stages. Section 25 of the NSIRA Act provides that NSIRA hearings are to be conducted “in private” and no one is entitled as of right to be present. During the hearings, the Review Agency’s legal counsel provides legal advice to Members on procedural and substantive matters and will also cross-examine witnesses when, for national security reasons, evidence must be heard in camera, ex parte. While you have the right to make submissions to the Review Agency, you may not be able to be present at a particular stage of the hearing when other witnesses give evidence in order to protect information, the disclosure of which could harm national security. This is known as an ex parte hearing. In the case of an ex parte hearing, NSIRA’s legal counsel will cross-examine witnesses on your behalf and may provide you with a summary of the information presented in your absence.

NSIRA and CSIS, CSE, RCMP, or as the case may be, have adopted the principle of continuing disclosure, as provided for in both the Federal Court Rules and the Canadian Human Rights Tribunal’s Rules. This allows new documents to be introduced as evidence, at any time before a decision is rendered. It should also be noted that due to the need to safeguard highly sensitive information, no cell phones or personal communications devices are allowed in the hearing rooms, and parties wishing to use laptop computers to take notes of the proceedings, can only use equipment provided by NSIRA.

Following a hearing, the Review Agency will set out its findings and any recommendations in a report regarding its determination on whether CSIS, CSE, the RCMP, or the Deputy Head of the department or agency concerned (under Section 18 complaints), acted appropriately. The complainant is advised in writing of this finding, once any information with national security implications is redacted. If the Review Agency identifies issues of concern, it sends a report which includes findings and recommendations to both the Minister and the Director of CSIS, the Chief of CSE, the Commissioner of RCMP or the Deputy Head of the department or agency concerned (under Section 18 complaints), as the case may be. Summaries of these reports, edited to protect national security and the privacy of complainants, are also included in NSIRA's Annual Report to Parliament.

It should be noted that not all complaint cases result in a formal hearing or written report. In some cases, the complainant may not have complied with the requirements of the NSIRA Act, for example, by first writing a letter of complaint to the Director of the CSIS, or the Chief of CSE. Others may not be within the Review Agency’s jurisdiction in which case the complainant is so advised. There are other complaint cases that may be addressed by administrative action, or the complainant may be re-directed to another government organization. And in other cases, the complainant may decide to withdraw his/her complaint, resulting in the file being closed.

Service Standards

Program Activity Expected Results : Parties before NSIRA receive a fair, efficient and timely resolution of their complaint.

Date modified:

Aperçu des plaintes devant l’OSSNR

Selon la loi, l’Office de surveillance des activités en matière de sécurité nationale et de renseignement (l’OSSNR ou l’Office de surveillance) a pour mandat d’enquêter sur les plaintes que des particuliers ou des groupes peuvent porter concernant le Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité (le SCRS ou le Service) et le Centre de la sécurité des télécommunications (CST) les renvois faits à l’Office de surveillance en vertu de la Loi sur la GRC par la CCETP et les plaintes concernant le refus ou la révocation d’une habilitation de sécurité. Avant de décrire les types de plaintes sur lesquelles l’OSSNR peut enquêter, il est important de donner un aperçu général du processus.

L’OSSNR peut recevoir des demandes de renseignements concernant les plaintes, par écrit ou par téléphone. La greffière de l’OSSNR répond à ces demandes dans les meilleurs délais et fournit au plaignant éventuel ce que la loi exige pour que son affaire soit considérée à titre de plainte officielle.

Les plaintes doivent être formulées par écrit en utilisant le formulaire requis et en joignant les documents pertinents relatifs à la plainte. Il est utile à l’Office de surveillance que vous fournissiez le plus de détails possible au sujet de votre plainte, y compris les dates, les lieux et les noms de toutes les personnes impliquées. Une fois qu’une plainte écrite est conforme aux règles de procédure, l’OSSNR procède à une première évaluation de toute information que peut détenir le SCRS, le CST, la GRC ou l’administrateur général responsable (plainte en vertu de l’article 18). L’OSSNR accusera réception de votre plainte, vous informera de la prochaine étape concernant votre plainte et communiquera avec vous pour assurer le suivi, si nécessaire.

S’il y a lieu, l’examen des plaintes se fait lors d’audiences quasi judiciaires présidées par un membre de l’Office de surveillance secondé par le personnel. Dans l’exercice de la compétence que lui confère la loi en matière de plaintes, l’Office de surveillance a tous les pouvoirs d’une cour supérieure. Tout plaignant a le droit d’être représenté par un avocat et de formuler des observations à l’audience. Des conférences préparatoires peuvent être tenues avec toutes les parties en vue de régler les questions de procédure préliminaires, par exemple, les allégations devant faire l’objet d’une enquête, l’identité et le nombre des témoins à citer et la présentation de documents avant une audience. Dans la mesure où l’on n’y aborde aucune question liée à la sécurité nationale, les conférences préparatoires peuvent se tenir par téléphone.

L’audience même peut comporter plusieurs étapes. L’article 25 de la Loi sur l’OSSNR stipule que les audiences de l’OSSNR se tiennent « à huis clos » et que personne n’a le droit d’être présent. Au cours des audiences, l’avocat principal de l’Office de surveillance fournit aux membres des conseils juridiques sur des questions de procédure et de fond et contre-interroge également les témoins lorsque, pour des raisons de sécurité nationale, la preuve doit être entendue ex parte à huis clos. Bien que vous ayez le droit de présenter des observations à l’Office de surveillance, il se peut que vous ne puissiez assister aux témoignages des autres témoins, et cela, pour protéger l’information dont la divulgation pourrait menacer la sécurité nationale. C’est ce qu’on appelle une audience ex parte. Dans le cas d’une audience ex parte, l’avocat principal de l’OSSNR contre-interrogera les témoins en votre nom et vous fera parvenir un résumé de l’information présentée en votre absence.

L’OSSNR, le SCRS, le CST, la GRC, selon le cas, ont adopté le principe de divulgation continue énoncé dans les Règles des Cours fédérales et les Règles de procédure du Tribunal canadien des droits de la personne. Cela permet de présenter de nouveaux documents en preuve à tout moment avant qu’une décision ne soit rendue. Il convient également de noter qu’en raison de la nécessité de protéger des informations extrêmement sensibles, aucun téléphone portable ni dispositif électronique n’est autorisé dans la salle d’audience et les parties souhaitant utiliser des ordinateurs portables pour prendre des notes durant la procédure ne peuvent utiliser que l’équipement fourni par l’OSSNR.

À la suite d’une audience, l’Office de surveillance consigne ses conclusions dans un rapport de même que toute recommandation qu’il estime nécessaire. Ce rapport indiquant si le SCRS, le CST, la GRC ou l’administrateur général du ministère ou de l’organisme concerné (pour les plaintes en vertu de l’article 18) ont agi de manière appropriée. L’Office de surveillance vous communiquera également ses conclusions, une fois que toute l’information ayant des implications sur la sécurité nationale a été caviardée. Ce rapport est envoyé au ministre, au directeur du SCRS, au chef du CST, au commissaire de la GRC ou à l’administrateur général du ministère ou de l’organisme concerné (pour les plaintes en vertu de l’article 18). Des résumés de ces rapports, édités pour protéger la sécurité nationale et la vie privée des plaignants sont également inclus dans le rapport annuel de l’OSSNR au Parlement.

Il convient de noter que toutes les plaintes ne donnent pas lieu à une audience formelle ou à un rapport écrit. Dans certains cas, le plaignant peut ne pas s’être conformé aux exigences de la Loi sur l’OSSNR, par exemple en écrivant d’abord une lettre de plainte au directeur du SCRS ou au chef du CST. D’autres peuvent ne pas être de la compétence de l’Office de surveillance, auquel cas le plaignant en est informé. D’autres plaintes peuvent être traitées par voie administrative ou le plaignant peut être redirigé vers une autre organisation gouvernementale. Dans d’autres cas, le plaignant peut décider de retirer sa plainte, ce qui entraînera la fermeture du dossier.

Normes de service

Résultats attendus : Les parties entendues devant l’OSSNR bénéficient d’un règlement juste, efficace et rapide de leur plainte.

Date de modification :