Excerpts of the NSIRA Act

The following excerpts from the NSIRA Act may be useful to review, if you are considering making a complaint to NSIRA.

Complaints

Complaints — Canadian Security Intelligence Service
16 (1) Any person may make a complaint to the Review Agency with respect to any activity carried out by the Canadian Security Intelligence Service and the Agency must, subject to subsection (2), investigate the complaint if
(a) the complainant has made a complaint to the Director with respect to that activity and the complainant has not received a response within a period of time that the Agency considers reasonable or is dissatisfied with the response given; and
(b) the Agency is satisfied that the complaint is not trivial, frivolous or vexatious or made in bad faith.

Other redress available
(2) The Review Agency must not investigate a complaint in respect of which the complainant is entitled to seek redress by means of a grievance procedure established under the Canadian Security Intelligence Service Act or the Federal Public Sector Labour Relations Act.

Complaints — Communications Security Establishment
17 (1) Any person may make a complaint to the Review Agency with respect to any activity carried out by the Communications Security Establishment and the Agency must, subject to subsection (2), investigate the complaint if
(a) the complainant has made a complaint to the Chief of the Communications Security Establishment with respect to that activity and the complainant has not received a response within a period of time that the Agency considers reasonable or is dissatisfied with the response given; and
(b) the Agency is satisfied that the complaint is not trivial, frivolous or vexatious or made in bad faith.

Other redress available
(2) The Review Agency must not investigate a complaint in respect of which the complainant is entitled to seek redress by means of a grievance procedure established under the Federal Public Sector Labour Relations Act.

Denial of security clearance
18 (1) If, by reason only of the denial of a security clearance required by the Government of Canada, a decision is made by a deputy head to deny employment to an individual or to dismiss, demote or transfer an individual or to deny a promotion or transfer to an individual, the deputy head must send, within 10 days after the decision is made, a notice informing the individual of the denial of the security clearance.

Denial of security clearance
(2) If, by reason only of the denial of a security clearance required by the Government of Canada to be given in respect of an individual, a decision is made to deny the individual or any other person a contract to provide goods or services to the Government of Canada, the deputy head concerned must send, within 10 days after the decision is made, a notice informing the individual and, if applicable, the other person of the denial of the security clearance.

Receipt and investigation of complaints
(3) The Review Agency must receive and investigate a complaint from
(a) any individual referred to in subsection (1) who has been denied a security clearance; or
(b) any person who has been denied a contract to provide goods or services to the Government of Canada by reason only of the denial of a security clearance in respect of that person or any individual.

Time within which complaint is to be made
(4) A complaint under subsection (3) must be made within 30 days after receipt of the notice referred to in subsection (1) or (2) or within any longer period that the Review Agency allows.

Complaints — Royal Canadian Mounted Police
19 The Review Agency must receive and investigate a complaint referred to it under subsection 45.‍53(4.‍1) or 45.‍67(2.‍1) of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police Act if the Agency is satisfied that the complaint is not trivial, frivolous or vexatious or made in bad faith.

Investigations in private
25 (1) Every investigation by the Review Agency is to be conducted in private.

Right to make representations
(2) In the course of an investigation of a complaint, the complainant, the deputy head concerned and, if the complaint is made under subsection 18(3), the Director must be given an opportunity to make representations to the Review Agency, to present evidence and to be heard personally or by counsel, but no one is entitled as of right to be present during, to have access to or to comment on representations made to the Agency by any other person.

Report of findings
29 (1) The Review Agency must,
(a) on completion of an investigation in relation to a complaint under subsection 16(1), provide the appropriate Minister and the Director with a report containing the findings of the investigation and any recommendations that the Agency considers appropriate;
(b) on completion of an investigation in relation to a complaint under subsection 17(1), provide the appropriate Minister and the Chief of the Communications Security Establishment with a report containing the findings of the investigation and any recommendations that the Agency considers appropriate; and
(c) on completion of an investigation in relation to a complaint referred to it under subsection 45.‍53(4.‍1) or 45.‍67(2.‍1) of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police Act, provide the appropriate Minister and the Commissioner of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police with a report containing the findings of the investigation and any recommendations that the Agency considers appropriate.

Complainant
(2) After providing a report under any of paragraphs (1)‍(a) to (c), the Review Agency must report the findings of the investigation to the complainant and may report to the complainant any recommendations it thinks fit.

Report — denial of security clearance
(3) On completion of an investigation in relation to a complaint under subsection 18(3), the Review Agency must provide the Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness, the Director, the deputy head concerned and the complainant with a report containing any recommendations that the Agency considers appropriate, and those findings of the investigation that the Agency thinks fit to report to the complainant.

Rules of procedure

See Rules of procedure

Forms

See Forms

 

Date modified:

Extraits de la Loi sur l’OSSNR

Voici quelques extraits de la Loi sur l’OSSNR qu'il pourrait vous être utile de parcourir si vous songez à présenter une plainte à l’OSSNR.

Plaintes

Plaintes — Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité
16 (1) Toute personne peut porter plainte contre des activités du Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité auprès de l’Office de surveillance; sous réserve du paragraphe (2), celui-ci fait enquête à la condition de s’assurer au préalable de ce qui suit :
a) d’une part, la plainte a été présentée au directeur sans que ce dernier ait répondu dans un délai jugé normal par l’Office de surveillance ou ait fourni une réponse qui satisfasse le plaignant;
b) d’autre part, la plainte n’est pas frivole, vexatoire, sans objet ou entachée de mauvaise foi.

Restriction
(2) L’Office de surveillance ne peut enquêter sur une plainte qui constitue un grief susceptible d’être réglé par la procédure de griefs établie en vertu de la Loi sur le Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité ou de la Loi sur les relations de travail dans le secteur public fédéral.

Plaintes — Centre de la sécurité des télécommunications
17 (1) Toute personne peut porter plainte contre des activités du Centre de la sécurité des télécommunications auprès de l’Office de surveillance; sous réserve du paragraphe (2), celui-ci fait enquête à la condition de s’assurer au préalable de ce qui suit :
a) d’une part, la plainte a été présentée au chef du Centre de la sécurité des télécommunications sans que ce dernier ait répondu dans un délai jugé normal par l’Office de surveillance ou ait fourni une réponse qui satisfasse le plaignant;
b) d’autre part, la plainte n’est pas frivole, vexatoire, sans objet ou entachée de mauvaise foi.
Restriction
(2) L’Office de surveillance ne peut enquêter sur une plainte qui constitue un grief susceptible d’être réglé par la procédure de griefs établie en vertu de la Loi sur les relations de travail dans le secteur public fédéral.

Refus d’une habilitation de sécurité
18 (1) Les individus qui font l’objet d’une décision de renvoi, de rétrogradation, de mutation ou d’opposition à engagement, avancement ou mutation prise par un administrateur général pour la seule raison du refus d’une habilitation de sécurité que l’administration fédérale exige sont avisés du refus par l’administrateur général; celui-ci envoie l’avis dans les dix jours suivant la prise de la décision.

Refus d’une habilitation de sécurité
(2) Dans le cas où, pour la seule raison du refus d’une habilitation de sécurité que l’administration fédérale exige à l’égard d’un individu, celui-ci ou une autre personne fait l’objet d’une décision d’opposition à un contrat de fourniture de biens ou de services à cette administration, l’administrateur général concerné envoie dans les dix jours suivant la prise de la décision un avis informant l’individu, et s’il y a lieu l’autre personne, du refus.

Réception des plaintes et enquêtes
(3) L’Office de surveillance reçoit les plaintes et fait enquête sur les plaintes présentées par :
a) les individus visés au paragraphe (1) à qui une habilitation de sécurité est refusée;
b) les personnes qui ont fait l’objet d’une décision d’opposition à un contrat de fourniture de biens ou de services à l’administration fédérale pour la seule raison du refus d’une habilitation de sécurité à ces personnes ou à quiconque.

Délai
(4) Les plaintes visées au paragraphe (3) sont présentées dans les trente jours suivant la réception de l’avis mentionné aux paragraphes (1) ou (2) ou dans le délai supérieur accordé par l’Office de surveillance.

Plaintes — Gendarmerie royale
19 Si une plainte lui est renvoyée au titre des paragraphes 45.‍53(4.‍1) ou 45.‍67(2.‍1) de la Loi sur la Gendarmerie royale du Canada, l’Office de surveillance fait enquête à la condition de s’assurer au préalable que la plainte n’est pas frivole, vexatoire, sans objet ou entachée de mauvaise foi.

Enquêtes secret
25 (1) Les enquêtes de l’Office de surveillance sont tenues en secret.

Droit de présenter des observations
(2) Au cours d’une enquête relative à une plainte, le plaignant, l’administrateur général concerné et, s’il s’agit d’une plainte présentée au titre du paragraphe 18(3), le directeur doivent avoir la possibilité de présenter des observations et des éléments de preuve à l’Office de surveillance ainsi que d’être entendus en personne ou par l’intermédiaire d’un avocat; toutefois, nul n’a le droit absolu d’être présent lorsqu’une autre personne présente des observations à l’Office de surveillance, ni de recevoir communication de ces observations ou de faire des commentaires à leur sujet.

Rapport et recommandation
29 (1) L’Office de surveillance :
a) à l’issue d’une enquête sur une plainte présentée en vertu du paragraphe 16(1), envoie au ministre compétent et au directeur un rapport contenant ses conclusions et les recommandations qu’il estime indiquées;
b) à l’issue d’une enquête sur une plainte présentée en vertu du paragraphe 17(1), envoie au ministre compétent et au chef du Centre de la sécurité des télécommunications un rapport contenant ses conclusions et les recommandations qu’il estime indiquées;
c) à l’issue d’une enquête sur une plainte qui lui a été renvoyée au titre des paragraphes 45.‍53(4.‍1) ou 45.‍67(2.‍1) de la Loi sur la Gendarmerie royale du Canada, envoie au ministre compétent et au commissaire de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada un rapport contenant ses conclusions et les recommandations qu’il estime indiquées.

Plaignant
(2) Après avoir envoyé un rapport en application de l’un des alinéas (1)a) à c), l’Office de surveillance fait parvenir au plaignant les conclusions de son enquête; s’il le juge à propos, il peut y joindre tout ou partie de ses recommandations.

Rapport — refus d’une habilitation de sécurité
(3) À l’issue d’une enquête sur une plainte présentée en vertu du paragraphe 18(3), l’Office de surveillance envoie au ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile, au directeur, à l’administrateur général concerné et au plaignant un rapport contenant les recommandations qu’il estime indiquées et les conclusions qu’il juge à propos de communiquer au plaignant.

Règles de procédure

Voir Règles de procédure

Formulaires

Voir Formulaires

Date de modification :