Research Directorate

Our Team

The focus of the Research Directorate is to support democratic accountability and transparency, and assist Parliament and Canadians in determining whether national security and intelligence mandates are being discharged appropriately and effectively. Through our work, the Directorate also supports Ministers by providing insight into the national security and intelligence activities of their portfolios.

Our research team is comprised of a number of individuals with diverse backgrounds, bringing together a wealth of experience from across many sectors. Researchers have knowledge and expertise in the areas of privacy, accountability, security and intelligence, the law, evaluation and reporting. 

Our Work

Our key responsibility is carrying out reviews of any national security or intelligence activity undertaken by any Canadian federal organization. NSIRA members are responsible for approving the annual research plan, examining draft review reports presented to them, and approving reviews.

More broadly, the Research Directorate is responsible for:

  • Developing and managing all aspects of NSIRA’s research program;
  • Coordinating the production of annual classified reports to the Ministers of Public Safety and National Defence;
  • Initiating and leading outreach with external stakeholders, both domestically and internationally, to develop linkages and enhance partnerships; and,
  • Providing strategic advice to NSIRA Members and the Executive Director on a wide range of security and intelligence, civil liberties and human rights issues.

Our Partners

Bill C-59 includes several provisions authorizing collaboration with, and the sharing of information between, the NSIRA and other accountability bodies, including the Civilian Review and Complaints Commission for the RCMP, the recently created National Security and Intelligence Committee of Parliamentarians (NSICoP), the Office of the Intelligence Commissioner, and the Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada.

In particular, the NSICoP has a mandate to review the legislative, regulatory, policy, administrative and financial framework for national security and intelligence in Canada, as well as departmental activities related to national security and intelligence.

The Research Directorate works with NSICoP to avoid unnecessary duplication of effort. NSIRA and NSICoP seek to have complementary approaches in their reviews to enhance the effectiveness of their respective mandates, and in this way strengthen the assurance they provide about the activities that the security and intelligence community undertake.

Date modified:

Direction de la recherche

Notre équipe

La Direction de la recherche existe, d’une part pour favoriser la transparence et la reddition de comptes exigées par la démocratie et, d’autre part, pour aider le Parlement et la population canadienne à juger si les mandats relatifs au renseignement et à la sécurité nationale sont honorés adéquatement et efficacement. Par son travail, elle éclaire aussi les ministres sur les activités de sécurité nationale et de renseignement dans leur portefeuille.

Les membres de notre équipe de recherche  proviennent de divers horizons et ils apportent avec eux une vaste expérience de leurs secteurs respectifs. Les recherchistes ont des connaissances et une expertise en matière de vie privée, de reddition de comptes, de sécurité, de renseignement, de droit, d’évaluation, et de production de rapports.

Notre travail

Notre responsabilité première est la conduite d’études concernant  toute activité de sécurité nationale ou de renseignement menée par l’État fédéral canadien. Les membres de l’OSSNR sont chargés d’approuver le plan de recherche annuel, d’examiner les rapports provisoires qui leur sont soumis et d’approuver les examens.

Plus largement, la Direction de la recherche assume les responsabilités suivantes :

  • Élaborer et gérer le programme de recherche de l’OSSNR sous tous ses aspects;
  • Coordonner la production des rapports annuels classifiés destinés aux ministres de la Sécurité publique et de la Défense nationale;
  • Amorcer et diriger la prise de contact avec les intervenants de l’extérieur, au pays comme à l’étranger, pour tisser des liens et développer les partenariats; et,
  • Donner des conseils stratégiques aux membres de l’OSSNR et au directeur exécutif dans une foule de dossiers concernant la sécurité et le renseignement, les libertés civiles, et les droits de la personne.

Nos partenaires

Le projet de loi C-59 contient plusieurs dispositions autorisant l’OSSNR à collaborer (c’est-à-dire entre autres à échanger des renseignements) avec d’autres organismes de reddition de comptes tels la Commission civile d’examen et de traitement des plaintes relatives à la GRC, le Comité des parlementaires sur la sécurité nationale et le renseignement (CPSNR), le Bureau du commissaire au renseignement, et le Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada.

En particulier, le CPSNR a pour mandat d’examiner le cadre législatif, réglementaire, stratégique, financier et administratif de la sécurité nationale et du renseignement au Canada, ainsi que les activités des ministères en ces matières.

La Direction de la recherche travaille avec le CPSNR pour éviter le dédoublement inutile des efforts. L’OSSNR et le CPSNR sont à la recherche d’approches complémentaires dans leurs examens, afin de s’acquitter plus efficacement de leurs mandats respectifs et ainsi pouvoir donner une assurance plus solide concernant les activités de la communauté du renseignement et de la sécurité.

Date de modification :